top of page

Paris' Art Scene, Ranked


Art is completely subjective, but that doesn't stop me from thinking that I have a good grasp on what's hot and what's not in Paris' art scene. For the past 10 years or so I've gone to Paris about least once a year, so I've seen almost every art museum that there is. Here's a list of the top 6 must sees, in my professional (and by professional I mean I've taken 2 art history classes) opinion.

1. Musée D'Orsay

It's probably an unpopular opinion to put D'Orsay at the top of the list, but it's a perfect size museum and the collection of impressionist and post impressionist work is extensive (they have some features from my main man Van Gogh). The clocks are also popular for pictures, but be prepared to duel with a lot of people to finally get your shot.

 

2. The Louvre

The Louvre is great; it has a lot of ridiculously famous pieces and a healthy variety of different art styles from different periods. However, it's almost too big - I've been at least 3 times and I'm sure there are things I still haven't seen. That being said, if you're willing to spend a day or two exploring, you'll definitely get your money's worth out of it. The exterior is also cool because it's housed in a palace which surrounds the iconic pyramids.

 

3. Centre Pompidou

Centre Pompidou is a modern art museum which looks like a bunch of hamster tunnels on the outside. They have a wide selection of art from the past 100 years or so with artists like Duchamp, Mondrian, etc. There are also typically a few interactive exhibits, like the one pictured called "cafe little boy" which was originally a blank room but guests wrote all over in chalk. Aside from the art itself, the views of Paris from the terraces are great (check them out in my best views of Paris post!)

 

4. L'Orangerie

Right near the Louvre, L'Orangerie contains mainly impressionist art that the Louvre lacks, particularly Monet. They have some cool panoramic monet galleries, as you can see in the photos.

 

5. Marmottan Monet

This one is pretty damn far from the main parts of the city, but if you like impressionism or monet, it's a great exhibit of his work that's not as crowded as L'Orangerie.

 

6. Picasso

It's hard to go through the Picasso museum without constantly thinking that he was on LSD his whole life, so needless to say, it's pretty interesting.

bottom of page